Community Briefs: 4-H’ers to address agribusiness panel

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


4-H’ers to address agribusiness panel

The Wilson AgriBusiness Committee will meet at noon Wednesday, March 6 at Parker’s Barbecue with Cody Miller and Jaden Ingram of Wilson County 4-H serving as guest speakers. They will discuss the Wilson County Livestock Show and Sale planned for March 27-28 at the Wilson County Fairgrounds.

Federal workers’ group to meet

ROCKY MOUNT — The National Active and Retired Federal Employees will meet at 12:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 12 at Gardner’s Restaurant, 1331 N. Wesleyan Blvd. Area IV Vice President Henry Brattlie will be the guest speaker. For more information, call Martha Stith at 252-877-2195.

Fike classmates plan 50-year reunion

The graduating members of Fike High School’s class of 1969 will have their 50th reunion beginning with heavy hors d’oeuvres at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, March 16 at Wilson Country Club, 4509 Country Club Drive N.

A block of rooms has been reserved for classmates who wish to make a reservation at the Hampton Inn, 2806 Wolf Trap Drive, 252-243-4040, contact person is Minnie. Reference name is Fike class of ‘69.

Admission to the reunion is $40 per person. A cash bar will be available. Credit cards are preferred at the bar. Make checks payable to Buck Wyatt, P.O. Box 354, Wilson, NC 27894.

The registration deadline is Tuesday, March 12.

Bridge club announces results

Wilson Duplicate Club winners for Feb. 26, North/South, are Frank Eagles and Betty Banks, first; Sallie and Tom Cozart, second; and Anne and Bill Highsmith, Louise Watson and Jeff Gates, tied for third. East/ West winners are Martha Walston and Agnes Cherry, first; Karen Pullen and Diane Delaney, second; and Margo and George Thompson, third.

Winners for Feb. 28, North/South, are Sallie and Tom Cozart, first; Nancy Thompson and Frank Eagles, second; and Beverly Wells and Helen Paszek, third. East/West winners are Betty Jon Smith and Agnes Cherry, first; Martha Walston and Louise Watson, second; Inda Hill and Skip Tombs, third; and Nancy Marlowe and Dot Boyette, fourth.