DAR recognizes high school award-winners

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


The Daughters of the American Revolution’s Thomas Hadley Chapter held its annual George Washington Day Luncheon on Feb. 16 to honor American History, Good Citizen and Junior ROTC award-winners from each of the Wilson County high schools.

Founded in 1890, the DAR is a women’s service organization dedicated to promoting historic preservation, education, patriotism and remembering the patriots of the American Revolution. Every member is a direct descendant of a patriot who participated in the American Revolution. The national motto is, “God, Home and Country.” The DAR national headquarters in Washington offers to the public a genealogical library, decorative arts museum, historic document collection and concert hall.

The DAR American History Award is a national honor given to promote interest in the study of American history and to recognize those students who do so by high academic achievement, special projects, extra readings or otherwise exhibit an interest in and appreciation for United States history.

The American History Award-winners are:

• Chase Wheeler, E.T. Beddingfield High School

• Kailey Murray, Community Christian School

• Myles Cyrus, Ralph L. Fike High School

• Jackson Stone, Greenfield School

• Emma Fatzaun, James B. Hunt High School

• Paige Gardner, Wilson Christian Academy

• Elizabeth Pridgen, Wilson Early College Academy

The DAR Good Citizen award, started in 1936, is given at the chapter level, then winners advance to the district, the state, region and finally the national level. Each school may honor only one senior class student per year as its DAR Good Citizen.

The student selected as the school’s DAR Good Citizen must demonstrate the qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism. Honorees volunteer many hours to their school, community and state.

Each school’s DAR Good Citizen receives a DAR Good Citizen pin, certificate, and wallet recognition card. This student is then eligible, if he or she wishes, to enter the DAR Good Citizen Scholarship Contest.

The Thomas Hadley Chapter recognized the following school-level Good Citizen Award-winners for the 2018-19 school year:

• Rakelle Horne, E.T. Beddingfield High School

• Kara Faith Strange, Community Christian School

• Lillie Caroline Quinn, Ralph L. Fike High School

• Safa Ahmed, Greenfield School

• Carolina Santamaria, James B. Hunt High School

• Paige Gardner, Wilson Christian Academy

• Brenna Nicole Lee, Wilson Early College Academy

Fike’s Quinn also received third-place in the district essay contest.

The DAR began awarding medals to Junior ROTC students in 1967 in recognition of the ROTC as an important program that prepares trained officers for service in the armed forces.

ROTC medals are awarded to student cadets of outstanding ability and achievement in high school, junior college, college or university ROTC programs of the Army, Navy, Air Force and Marine Corps. Medal recipients are selected by the professors of military science and school principals.

Recipients must have demonstrated loyalty and patriotism and earned a record of military and scholastic achievement during their participation in an ROTC program.

Students must be in the upper 25 percent of their classes in ROTC and in academic subjects. They must have shown qualities of dependability and good character, adherence to military discipline, leadership ability and a fundamental and patriotic understanding of the importance of ROTC training.

The Bronze ROTC Medal is awarded to either a junior or senior student in a secondary school JROTC program or in junior college. The Thomas Hadley Chapter awarded the Bronze JROTC Medal to:

• Cadet Jalyn Harris, E.T. Beddingfield High School

• Cadet Capt. Fredy Delabra, Ralph L. Fike High School

• Lt. Col. Jae Jin Lee, James B. Hunt High School