Hunt’s Griffith, SWE’s Porter top area NCBCA All-District 3 picks

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Seniors Bria Griffith of Hunt and Keishon Porter of SouthWest Edgecombe lead a contingent of eight players from The Wilson Times readership area to earn All-District 3 acclaim from the North Carolina Basketball Coaches Association, which only accepts nominations from member coaches.

Griffith was named to the girls first team a year after landing on the second team. Porter, who has signed with NCAA Division I Radford University, was also a first-team selection after earning a second-team nod in 2019. Griffith led the Lady Warriors to a 20-8 mark and to the fourth round of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association 3-A playoffs, the deepest postseason foray in program history. Porter, a high-flying, 6-foot-5 wing, directed the Cougars to a 19-7 mark, with three losses coming against unbeaten and top-ranked Farmville Central.

Hunt senior Imani Sutton repeated as a girls third-team selection while SouthWest Edgecombe junior Jada Battle, who was on the second team last season, and senior Bailey Davis both made the third team. The duo helped the Lady Cougars to a 16-10 mark.

C.B. Aycock junior Abbey Thomas earned second-team status, leading the Lady Falcons to an 11-14 mark and into the state 3-A playoffs.

Rocky Mount’s Pam Gainey was celebrated as the girls District 3 Coach of the Year.

Hunt sophomores Ty’Chaun Clay and Davon Jones landed on the boys second and third team, respectively, after sparking the Warriors to a 17-9 mark and the 3-A Big East Conference regular-season title.

Farmville Central led the way on the boys All-District 3 team with seniors Justin Wright and Samage Teel joined by junior Terquavion Smith on the first team. Wright was hailed as district player of the year while Jaguars’ Larry Williford was voted the district’s top coach by his peers.

Williford also earned the statewide coach-of-the-year honor while Wright was voted to the all-state first team and Smith was named to the second team.

Fayetteville E.E. Smith’s Dee Hardy was named the girls state coach of the year while Chyna Cornwell of Newton-Conover and North Mecklenburg’s Tristan Maxwell were proclaimed the girls and boys player of the year, respectively.



NCBCA 2019-20 All-State Teams


FIRST TEAM — Chyna Cornwell, Newton-Conover; Saniya Rivers, Wilmington Ashley; Anya Poole, Southeast Raleigh; Kennedy Todd-Williams, Jacksonville; Jessica Timmons, North Mecklenburg

SECOND TEAM — Indya Nivar, Apex Friendship; Emily Carver, Enka; Teonni Key, Cary; Jacee Busick, Kernersville Glenn; Skylah Travis, Weldon

THIRD TEAM — Navaeh Brown, Charlotte Mallard Creek; Miya Giles-Jones, Fayetteville E.E. Smith; Jenna Wooten, D.H. Conley; Hannah Tipton, Burnsville Mountain Heritage; Keayna McLaughlin, Southern Pines Pinecrest



FIRST TEAM — Tristan Maxwell, North Mecklenburg; Justin Wright, Farmville Central; Nick Farrar, Apex Friendship; Bobby Pettiford, South Granville; Carter Whitt, Raleigh Leesville Road.

SECOND TEAM — Dontrez Styles, Kinston; D’Marco Dunn, Fayetteville Westover; Silas Mason, Greensboro Ben L. Smith; Terquavion Smith, Farmville Central; Dylan Blake, Kill Devil Hills First Flight

THIRD TEAM — Bradlee Haskell, Southern Pines Pinecrest; Terence Harcum, Granville Central; Nate Brafford, Waynesville Tuscola; Ricky Council IV, Southern Durham; Breon Pass, Reidsville


NCBCA 2019-2010 All-District 3 Teams


FIRST TEAM — Jenna Wooten, D.H. Conley; Ashanti Hines, North Pitt; Kylah Silver, D.H. Conley; Bria Griffith, Hunt; Caroline Thiel, Rocky Mount

SECOND TEAM — Taliyah Jones, Kinston; Anzariya Cobb, Kinston; Shakira Tillery, North Edgecombe; Dee Graham, Rocky Mount; Abbey Thomas, C.B. Aycock

THIRD TEAM — Bailey Davis, SW Edgecombe; Imani Sutton, Hunt; Alexis Moore, Rocky Mount; Jada Battle, SW Edgecombe; Ta’Niyah Glaspie, Southern Wayne



FIRST TEAM — Justin Wright, Farmville Central; Dontrez Styles, Kinston; Terquavion Smith, Farmville Central; Keishon Porter, SW Edgecombe; Samage Teel, Farmville Central

SECOND TEAM — Aaron Murphy, Greenville Rose; Devin Brown, Eastern Wayne; Marvin Tucker Jr., North Edgecombe; Isaac Parson, Kinston; Ty’Chaun Clay, Hunt

THIRD TEAM — Wesley Case, Eastern Wayne; I’Jheaur Sharpe, North Edgecombe; Keeshawn Silver, Rocky Mount; Xavion Atkinson, Goldsboro; Davon Jones, Hunt