Morrison receives preservation award

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Local preservationist B. Perry Morrison Jr. was presented with the 2018 Preservation Spirit Award during the recent Preservation of Wilson annual Garden Party and Art Show.

The Preservation Spirit Award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to promoting historic preservation in Wilson County.

Morrison has been a part of the Preservation of Wilson leadership since 2006, serving as president, past president and as a member of the finance committee.

“Perry truly cares about eastern North Carolina and Wilson in particular,” said Betty Rae McCain, former N.C Department of Cultural Resources secretary. “He has been a longtime champion for preservation and one of Wilson’s greatest public assets. Perry never loses sight of what makes Wilson special and how important it is to carry that message to our next generation.

“Perry is a great blessing for us, and he justly deserves this award,” she said.

Morrison has served on the N.C. Museum of History Associates’ board of directors, the National Register Advisory Committee, N.C. Historical Commission, N.C. Museum of History’s accessions committee, Wilson County Historical Society, Tryon Palace Foundation, N.C. Society of the Cincinnati, Friends of N.C. Archives’ board of directors and Barton College’s board of advisers and history lectures committee.

He has also been involved with the Wilson County Public Library as a trustee, Barton College as director of international studies, Wilson County Tourism Authority as a board member and Wilson All-American Kiwanis Club as a two-time president.

An attorney with Morrison Law Firm, he is married to the former Nancy Hooper of Wilmington, and they have two children.

“As a longtime friend of Perry Morrison, I know his interest in history and preservation,” said Bobby Boykin, first president of Preservation of Wilson. “When he commits to something, he gives it his all. His interest in history is wide and encompassing, and he is an excellent recipient.”

The Preservation Spirit Award has been presented since 2009 to past winners Gaynell Stallings; Paul and Andera Grigas; Bobby Boykin; Rosa and Jerome De Perlinghi; Woody Harrison; Ed Etheridge; Jane Hawthorne and the Cooke family; Garland Homes Jr. and Chip Futrell.

Preservation of Wilson is a nonprofit corporation that provides leadership in the revitalization efforts of Wilson County’s unique architectural properties. For information, contact Kathryn Bethune at 252-234-7694 or kfb@preservationofwilson.com.