Newsome double Big Fish winner for Fishers of Men in 2019

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Brent Newsome emerged a double champion when the Carolina “Fishers of Men” Inshore Trail ministry concluded its 13th season with its annual banquet recently at the Wilson Moose Lodge.

Newsome pocketed $250 twice as the result of claiming Big Fish supremacy in the Trout and Puppy Drum divisions. Newsome landed a trout weighing 4.02 pounds and a puppy drum of 7.74 pounds.

The other Big Fish winners were Chad Deiny in Rock and Greg Howell in Flounder. Deiny’s rock weighed 11.08 pounds, while Howell’s flounder registered 6.17 pounds on the scales.

Trail leader Billy Ray Lucas hailed the fishing season a tremendous success and was well-pleased with the first banquet at the Wilson Moose Lodge. Lucas commended Kay Ballance and her staff in providing the meal.

Lucas reported to the banquet turnout that total tournament money paid out exceeded $25,000. The six events attracted an average of 40 boats and 100-plus fishermen per tournament.

 Kids participants ranged from 12 to 15 per event. Lucas described the annual Kids Day on the Pond outing a huge success.

Charities and individuals received donations in excess of $5,000 from the Trail. Receiving donations during the banquet were Randy Lee Vandiford, Hedi May, Cross Trail Outfitters and Brian Saunders.

Lucas emphasized the Carolina “Fishers of Men” is a ministry and spoke of several inspirational testimonies during the evening.

The recipient of special awards were Ethan May, who has fished since age 5,and Daniel Davenport. May was presented a fishing jacket and certificate, while Davenport received a plaque of appreciation.

Back to the awards:

Dieny teamed with Cameron Webb to win the Rockfish division with a total catch of 18.96 pounds.

The trio of Mark Asby-Bert Hill-David Jones finished second (18.06), Wayne Robbins-Michael Letchworth third (17.39); Johnny Fields fourth (15.68) and Jeremy Braddy-Eric Braddy fifth (14.45).

Asby, Hill and Jones topped the Trout division at 15.28 pounds.

Reed Radcliff-Danny Marshlander took second (13.06), with Vandiford-Tugwell third (12.37), Rob Congleton-Donnie Brown fourth (9.52) and Kevin Webb-Brad Lewis fifth (8.07).

Fields’ haul totaled 32 pounds in capturing the Flounder division.

Greg Howell-Grayson Howell (29.93) settled for second, with Dale Goff-Thad Farmer-Mann Farmer third (28.83), Deiny-Webb fourth (25.81) and Paul Summerlin-Austin Summerlin fifth (24.48).

A strong finish enabled Grayson Howell, in his final year of eligibility, to reign in the Kids Division with a catch of 23.94 pounds.

Austin Davenport placed second at 11.43, Michael Black third at 11.30, Coleman Bunn fourth at 6.84 and Nick Davis fifth at 3.32.