Padres quartet wins NC Baseball Museum Celebrity Golf Tournament

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


With a team score of 53, the Padres quartet of Ricky Joyner, Jerry Wilder, Jerry Delliner and former major leaguer Johnny Grubb secured first-place honors in the first flight of the 17th annual North Carolina Baseball Museum Celebrity Golf tournament held May 22 at Wedgewood Public Golf Course.

Competition was held in three flights, with awards also handed out to closest to the pin winners and the longest drive.

In the first flight, the E.B. Sports & Embroidery team of Bill Winstead, Butch O’Briant, Royce Poythress and former Fike High football coach Gus Andrews was second with a 54. Third place in the first flight went to McRae Farms, with John Donaldson, Tom Floyd, Robert Mullis, Whitey McRae, Todd Pegram and Jimmy Clontz fashioning a 54. Donaldson enjoyed a seven-year Major League career with the Kansas City Royals, Oakland A’s and the Seattle Pilots.

The second flight was paced by Team Eddie Boykin, with Ray Raper, Tom Pittman, David Smith and William Hesmer carving out a 59. Hesmer, a product of Hunt High, was a professional goaltender with the Columbus Crew of Major League Soccer.

Second place in the second flight was claimed by the Ameriprise Financial quartet of Robert Wells, Kenny Ellen, Keith Ellen and Johnnie Ellen en route to a 60. 

Anthony & Tabb, PA was third, with Robert Kirkland, John Anthony, Rusty Tabb and Lynn Daniell, former Fike and N.C. State quarterback, firing a 60.

The third flight saw Team Mike Caldwell, Team Mike Balance and Team Paul Miller comprise the top three.

With a 63, Daniel Caldwell, Mark Barham, Mike Caldwell, Steve Leary and John Palczuk pace the third flight. Caldwell, born in Tarboro, enjoyed a 14-year career in the big leagues between the San Diego Padres, San Francisco Giants, Cincinnati Reds and the Milwaukee Brewers.

The Mike Balance unit of Brad Garris, Tyler Farmer, Matt Balance and Wilson County Schools athletic director Jimmy Tillman also fired a 63 en route to a second-place showing.

With a 65, Blair Bush, Godfrey Little, David Taylor and former UNC quarterback Paul Miller directed his namesake’s team to a third-place result in the third flight.

David Crawford won the longest drive award for his effort on hole No. 9, while Kelly Vick (No. 5), P.J. Gay (No. 10) and Steve Leary (No. 12) were closest to the pin on their respective layouts.