Repko doubles down at Southern National

By Andy Marquis Special to the Times
Posted 8/19/19

LUCAMA — Ryan Repko made the most of his Southern National Motorsports Park debut on Saturday night and Sunday afternoon by scoring wins each day of the weekend doubleheader.

The 19-year-old …

Sign up to keep reading — IT'S FREE!

In an effort to improve our website and enhance our local coverage, WilsonTimes.com has switched to a membership model. Fill out the form below to create a free account. Once you're logged in, you can continue using the site as normal. You should remain logged in on your computer or device as long as you don’t clear your browser history/cookies.

Repko doubles down at Southern National

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


LUCAMA — Ryan Repko made the most of his Southern National Motorsports Park debut on Saturday night and Sunday afternoon by scoring wins each day of the weekend doubleheader.

The 19-year-old Repko, from Denver, drove past Wes Burton in the closing laps in the first of two Late Model Stock Car feature races on Saturday night.  He backed that up in the opening act of Sunday’s racing program with another win after passing pole winner Bradley McCaskill in the early laps of the race.

“Reynolds Racing Chassis has me dialed in and the car’s been driving better than it ever has,” Repko told The Wilson Times after the race.  “Just hit on something here that’s been really good, and it’s worked everywhere.  It means a lot to win, especially since this is my first time here. Southern National is one of those really well-respected racetracks where you know a lot of good people run and there were a lot of national championships in the field.  It’s tough to win and I’m really proud of how this weekend went.”

The two wins over the weekend are the latest in an impressive season for Repko which was defined just a couple weeks ago by a win in a CARS Late Model Stock Tour race in Hickory.

“Hickory was a huge win,” Repko said.  “Everybody good was there.  There’s not much more that you can win other than a CARS Tour race.  I mean, those are where all the best guys are.”

Repko held off Wes Burton and Carteret County Speedway champion Brandon Clements in his triumph on Saturday.  On Sunday, multi-time Southern National feature winner McCaskill finished runner-up, while former ValleyStar Credit Union 300 winner Mike Looney finished third.

Saturday night’s second Late Model feature was won by Myrtle Beach (South Carolina) competitor Brian Vause, while McCaskill was victorious in Sunday’s second act.

McCaskill’s victory was a hard fought one in a race that came down to the wire.

2017 track champion Mason Diaz, who stepped in for an ill Ronald Renfrow at the last minute Saturday, started on the pole after an eight-car invert and dominated for much of the race.  However, the handling on Diaz’s car faded in the final few laps of the race, allowing McCaskill to take the lead — and the win.

The Mini-Stock division produced two local winners.  Ronnie “Buckshot” Jones of Kenly picked up the win in Saturday’s Mini-Stock feature while Lucama’s Joseph Pittman was victorious Sunday.  Clayton’s Carter Langley swept the weekend’s Charger features, Cameron Murray of Fuquay-Varina swept in Bandolero competition over his younger sister, Olivia, and won Sunday’s Legends race, while Burlington’s Kade Lambert scored a victory on Saturday.

The 2019 season at Southern National Motorsports Park will resume on Saturday, Aug. 31 with twin races for the Late Model Stock Car division as well as racing for Chargers, Mini-Stocks, Legends, Bandoleros, Any Cars, and the Southern Ground Pounder Vintage Racing Club.


Race 1

1.       Ryan Repko

2.       Wes Burton

3.       Brandon Clements

4.       Bradley McCaskill

5.       Peyton Sellers

6.       Mike Looney

7.       Chris Chapman

8.       Brian Vause

9.       Sam Yarbrough

10.   Rusty Daniels

11.   Brian Obiedzenski

12.   Ross Dalton

13.   Connor Mosack

14.   Brooke Storer

15.   Philip Morris

16.   Steve Zacharias

17.   Ronald Renfrow

18.   Wesley Hawkins

19.   Gracie Trotter

20.   Melvin Langley

21.   Wesley Johnson

22.   Mike Ganoe

23.   Gerald Benton

24.   Toni Breidinger

25.   William Lester

26.   Kenneth Mercer

27.   J.D. Eversole

Race 2

1.       Brian Vause

2.       Bradley McCaskill

3.       Peyton Sellers

4.       Chris Chapman

5.       Ross Dalton

6.       Mike Looney

7.       Philip Morris

8.       Ryan Repko

9.       Sam Yarbrough

10.   Rusty Daniels

11.   Ronald Renfrow

12.   Connor Mosack

13.   Brian Obiedzenski

14.   William Lester

15.   Gracie Trotter

16.   Wes Burton

17.   Brandon Clements

18.   Brooke Storer

19.   Steve Zacharias

20.   Wesley Hawkins

21.   Melvin Langley

22.   Mike Ganoe

23.   Wesley Johnson

24.   Toni Breidinger

25.   Gerald Benton


Race 1

1.       Ryan Repko

2.       Bradley McCaskill

3.       Brandon Clements

4.       Peyton Sellers

5.       Brian Vause

6.       Ross Dalton

7.       Connor Mosack

8.       Mason Diaz

9.       Sam Yarbrough

10.   Brian Obiedzenski

11.   Philip Morris

12.   Gracie Trotter

13.   Paul Williamson

14.   Wes Burton

15.   Mike Looney

16.   Bobby Morris

17.   Chris Chapman

Race 2

1.       Bradley McCaskill

2.       Mason Diaz

3.       Peyton Sellers

4.       Ryan Repko

5.       Ross Dalton

6.       Connor Mosack

7.       Brandon Clements

8.       Philip Morris

9.       Brian Obiedzenski

10.   Brian Vause

11.   Gracie Trotter

12.   Paul Williamson

13.   Chris Chapman

14.   Cameron Murray