Six-figure scholarship spree: 100 students to split more than $100K in WCC Foundation cash

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


The Wilson Community College Foundation handed out more than $100,000 in scholarships shared among 100 students Thursday.

The students were handed checks at the at the foundation’s 21st annual scholarship awards ceremony held at the Frank L. Eagles Community Business Center.

“This is what the foundation is all about,” said Keith Warren, chairman of the Wilson Community College Foundation Board of Directors.

In addition to donations throughout the year, the foundation’s endowment grew through fundraisers like the recent Local Unsung Heroes Banquet and a spring golf tournament.

“All those funds come right back to the scholarships that are being given today,” Warren said.

Tim Wright, president of Wilson Community College, said the funds pay for tuition, books and fees.

Wright said the funding has a huge impact on the students’ ability to improve their lives.

“The impact is really incalculable when you think about the number of people that it allows to finish their educations,” Wright said. “Think about 100 extra people who are going to get educations that allow them to get out and get good jobs that would not have otherwise in a county the size of Wilson and that’s every year that that happens.”

Students at WCC range from age 16 to the older adult population.

“The average for our students, and this is common for community colleges throughout North Carolina and the country, is in the mid-20s, so even though we have a lot of traditional-aged college students, we also have a lot of folks in their 30s, 40s and 50s coming back to get new degrees or to skill up. It is very common.”

Keita Kornegay, medical office administration instructor, was recognized as the WCC faculty person of the year.

Penny Cuddington, accounting specialist in the business office and auxiliary services, was recognized as WCC staff person of the year.

Wright said the scholarships are only made possible because of the donors “whose generosity is beyond our ability to thank.”

“A lot of our donors here, probably most of them, do it year after year and have done it year after year and have supported hundreds and hundreds and thousands of students through their educations here,” Wright said. “It is really quite admirable what our donors do.”

Wilson Community College Foundation scholarship and endowment recipients included Temika Hyman, Sarah Pierce, Daniel Massey, Jacob Turner, Christian Joyner, Anita Smith, Tatania Wiseman, Beverly Barnes, Stephanie Everette, Jamie Kennedy, Katherine Woodley, Demetrius Cox, Florisela Gutierrez-Alcantar, Karlie Martinez, Brittany Sanders, Terrance Taylor, Fredrick Uwakwe, Magen Cross, Zachary Coble, Tanisha King, Betty Johnson, Caitlyn Vinoski, Hai Vo, Demetrius Cox, Jessmin Evans, Jawana Edwards, Darnell Ross Jr., Tanisha James, Tekisha Hinnant, Jessica Weathers, Tiffany Bernard, Camilla Bobbitt, Tiffany Anning, Landon Neely, David Peele, Alec Wismann, Jocelyn Brumley, Bethany Cone, Robert Brown, Tabitha Gonzalez, Laquan Artis, Yashika Atkinson, Melissa Florez, Chaka Johnson, Nihasia Locus, Sasha Pugh, Jasmine Quiller, Jamee Taft, Rayvonnda Arrington, Krystal Barnes, Justin Cobb, Olivia Frazier, Candice Hicks, Kiara Hogans, Jahiquez McAllister, Shenika Beckwith, Marian Emory, Ismael Arreola Jr., Steven Sanchez, Christin Brantley, Tahirrah Dew, Saira Eustaquio, Morgan Norfleet, Sally Osano, Brittany Peeples, London Adkins, Jeffery Cary-Coleman, Candice Hicks, Ugboaku Obi, Sharyn Guox, Stephanie Hilliard, Jennifer Loper, Natasha Hobbs, Tiffany Whitehorn, Liliana Urieta, Neil Ramlal, Jennifer Cottle, Learha Leach, Lucas Foster, Jonathan Urieta Rodriguez,Wendy White, Natasha Hobbs, Sterling Heath, Jennifer Rodriguez-Garcia, Anita Smith, Johnathan Piedra, Jose Martins, Morgan Johnson, Ashley Beamon, Cameron McKeel, Meagan Brock, Cynthia McKnight, Beverly Barnes, Olivia Speight, Hailey Morgan, Alexander Whitley, Cassie Stanford, Emily Weppler, Amya Reid, Rebecca Raya, Graceanne Winslow, Morgan Abbott, Nanette Hawkins, Erica Vick, Madison Barkley, Carrie Bass, Gina Lamm, Symonia Lynch and Houston Massengill.

Wilson Community College Foundation high school scholarship recipients included Katy Rodriguez, Kayla Dorsey, Denny Juarez-Garcia, Jared Haynes and Sarah Hope Jones.