Things to know about the 40th annual FFHT girls tournament

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.



Fike 19

Beddingfield 11

Hunt 4

Charles B. Aycock 1

Lee County 1

Raleigh Millbrook 1

Fayetteville Westover 1

Apex 1


Beddingfield 16

Hunt 9

Fike 9

Greene Central 1

Fayetteville Sanford 1

Fayetteville Cape Fear 1

Fayetteville Pine Forest 1

Raleigh Athens Drive 1


Hunt 58, Beddingfield 46

THIS YEAR marks the 40th rendition of the Wilson holiday girls basketball tournament, formerly the Eastern Carolina Classic before changing to the Farris & Farris Holiday Tournament in 2011.

KAYLA KENT of Hunt was named the Eddie Summerlin Most Valuable Player of the 2016 tournament.

SEVEN members of the 2017 all-tourney squad return — Hunt’s Kent and junior Tatiana Smith; Beddingfield seniors Jayla Bullock and Jakeria Anderson and sophomore Makayla Everette; Fike senior Aniya Thigpen and Smithfield-Selma senior Logan Lee. Thigpen was on the 2015 girls all-tourney team.

THE CHAMPIONSHIP has been a Beddingfield-Fike matchup for 18 of the 39 previous tournaments. Beddingfield has played Hunt in the final six times, all since 1998 and four times since 2012.

THE LADY DEMONS have won a tournament-best 19 titles, including last year, which was their first since 2010.

BEDDINGFIELD has played in five consecutive tournament finals but played in eight straight from 2002-2009. The Lady Bruins have won 12 tournament titles, including six in a row from 2002 to 2009, but have lost in the final the last two years.

THE FIKE GIRLS hold the longest winning streak for boys or girls with 12, including five titles from 1985-1989. The Lady Demons have played in the championship game 28 times in 39 tournaments.

THE LADY WARRIORS, who have eight runner-up finishes, won their first title in 1984 and went 27 years before winning another. Hunt has won three since 2011.

CHARLES B. AYCOCK, in its only ECC appearance, was the last non-Wilson team to win a girls tournament title when the Golden Falcons thumped the Lady Demons, 54-37, in 1995.

TWO HEAD COACHES, Jeff Nelson of Fike and Markeisha Braziel of Smithfield-Selma, will be making their tournament coaching debuts.

THE LARGEST margin of victory in the championship was Beddingfield’s 73-28 defeat of Fike in 2005 while the closest was Fike beating Fayetteville Cape Fear 46-45 in 1983.

THE MOST POINTS scored in a final came in 2009 when Beddingfield downed Fike 72-64 while the lowest total in a championship is 68, done three times.

TWO DEFENDING STATE CHAMPIONS — Fike in 1979 and Beddingfield in 2006 — have played in the holiday classic.

GREENE CENTRAL’S only appearance in the championship game was 1997, a 69-43 loss to Fike. That was the last time a non-Wilson girls team reached the tournament final.

TWO VISITING SCHOOLS, Lee County and C.B. Aycock, have won both boys and girls tournament titles.

ADMISSION: $8 for the first two nights each and $10 for the championship games Wednesday.

SPECTATORS are urged to arrive early as metal detectors will be in place at the entrances. Doors will open at 4:15 p.m. on Monday and Wednesday and at 5:15 p.m. Tuesday.

There will be two lines for entrance into the school.