Wilson Co. Junior Golf tourney entries due July 17

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


The deadline for entries for the 41st annual Larry Pittman Memorial/Wilson County Junior Golf Tournament is Wednesday, July 17, at 5 p.m.

Entry blanks are available at and may be turned into Wedgewood Public Golf Course, Willow Springs Country Club and Wilson Country Club.

The three-day tournament will begin Monday, July 22, at Wilson Country Club, with Willow Springs hosting the second round Tuesday, July 23, and the final round set for Wednesday, July 24. 

Age groups are 8-under, 9-10, 11-12 and 13-14 for boys and girls. The top age group for girls is 15-18 while the boys division is divided into 15-16 and 17-18.

The annual Wilson County Junior Golf Association banquet will be held Wednesday, July 24, at 6 p.m. at Wilson Country Club with Wilson attorney and longtime junior golf supporter Will Farris as the guest speaker.

The 2018 girls age-group champions were Camiryn Jackson (8U), Brooklyn Scott (9-10), Bree Council (11-12), Lanie Jinks (13-14) and Sarah Bunn (15-18) while last year’s boys age-group winners were Luke Allegood (8U), Samuel Allegod (9-10), Ethan Boyette (11-12), Drew O’Neal (13-14), Ryan Richardson (15-16) and Jake Herring (17-18). 

Bunn and Herring were the overall female and male medalists, respectively.