Wilson community unites to honor its veterans

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Again, I want to thank The Wilson Times for another professional coverage of the city of Wilson’s Veterans Day program. If not for your outstanding coverage, many of Wilson’s veterans who could not be in attendance would not be able to truly appreciate how the city of Wilson supports and thanks its veterans. Thank you for your support of our veterans. We salute you.

To the Honorable C. Bruce Rose, mayor of the city of Wilson, I thank you for your heartfelt welcome, your continued support of the Committee on Patriotism and the job you do for our city. And to the city clerk, Ms. Jamie Batts, I don’t have the words to thank you for all you have done for the committee. We will be happy for you on your retirement in December, yet we will be sad seeing you go. God bless you.

Thank you, city of Wilson communications department, for live-broadcasting and recording our program. I trust all went well.

To our many program participants, you are the program and the reason for its success. To a person, you braved the cooler weather. For that, we salute you.

Our speaker, Mr. Morgan P. Dickerman III, CEO and chairman of The Wilson Times and member of the Committee on Patriotism, your presentation commemorating the 100th year since the end of World War I was very informative. You answered the call to action and the committee appreciates and thanks you for it. Forgive me, but I must add this: I was very saddened when you called for the WWII veterans present with us to stand and be recognized and only one veteran stood.

I immediately thought of my mentor, friend and co-founder of the city of Wilson Committee on Patriotism and ex-officio member, Mr. Eddie M. Price, who could not be here with us on Veterans Day because of health. Eddie will be 94 years of age this 22nd day of November. Let us all keep him in our prayers.

On a happier note, Mrs. Torry Wilson of Wilson Chapel Free Will Baptist Church, I can only say “Wow.” Your rendition of the national anthem was beautiful, angelic and amazing. You are truly blessed.

Mr. Joe-Seth Ruffin and Mr. Charles Howell of Disabled American Veterans Chapter 8, thank you for the Earnest Ward Memorial Flag-Folding Ceremony.

New Hope Elementary School Chorus, Ms. Tasha Weatherington, director and teacher, your students were wonderful and they sang beautifully, overcoming our technical difficulties. They were awesome. The poems by Justin and Cheryl were precious; we veterans will carry them with us in our hearts.

To our ladies who honored us with the presentation of the memorial wreath, thank you, Ms. Ottine Miller, president of American Legion Auxiliary Unit 13 and Ms. Geraldine Robinson, president of Unit 17.

To our program’s patriotic regulars, you are outstanding; our taps player, Mr. Jerry Howell of American Legion Post 13; our high schools’ Junior ROTCs at Fike, Hunt and Beddingfield, you all performed your tasks with military precision, crisp, sharp and professional, and your uniform appearance was excellent.

The same goes for our Wilson County Veterans Honor Guard and Rifle Team, commanded by Mr. Michael Black, Marine Corps League, and sponsored by American Legion Post 13.

We also thank the Legion Riders for their beautiful motorcycle display. And we thank our sound system tech, Mr. Thaddeus Washington of Kingdom Audio and Video, for his volunteered time.

Thank you, American Legion Post 13, for catering our refreshments. Thank you, city of Wilson Print Services for our programs, they are great. And we thank the county of Wilson for providing our relief stations.

All this said, what good is a program if no one attends? Thank you, veterans, citizens of Wilson, visitors and friends. We appreciate all who attended and those who couldn’t but wanted to. May God continue to bless us, and may God bless the United States of America.

City of Wilson, your dedicated Committee on Patriotism members are City Councilman Logan T. Liles, Edmund N. Costello, Morgan P. Dickerman III, Debra Grover Deaton, James Arthur Faison, F.T. Franks Jr., Jacqueline Y. Knight, Horace Goff, ex-officio member Eddie M. Price and yours truly, E. Ray Chambers.

E. Ray Chambers


The writer is chairman of the Wilson Committee on Patriotism.