Wilson Cup golf lineups coming together

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Seven holdovers and three newcomers form the lineup for the 2018 Wedgewood Public Golf Course team that will defend its Wilson Cup championship in the 25th anniversary competition scheduled for Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 25-26.

Saturday’s opening round, which requires a pair of 18-hole matches from the four participating teams, is scheduled at Wilson Country Club. The final round-robin matches and the championship match are planned for Wedgewood on Sunday afternoon.

As the results of last weekend’s qualifying, Mark Whitley, Matt Ellis, Jody O’Neal, David Lee, the reigning Wilson County Amateur men’s champion; Harry Helmer Jr., Jesse Mercer and Ryan Pittman return from the 2017 squad that defeated Willow Springs Country Club for the course’s second championship in 25 tries.

New to the Wedgewood lineup as well as to the Wilson Cup are Mike Caddy, Mitch Hayes and Ricky Joyner. Joyner and Helmer are the Seniors (ages 55-up) entrants.

Willow Springs, the 2017 runner-up, will be represented by Brandon McKeel, Chance Cox, Trey Baker, Troy Haynes, Matt Lemmons, Butch O’Briant, Ty Barnes, Rick Proctor and Seniors members Jerry Barnes and Billy Clark. Clark is the only newcomer, although Proctor is playing for Willow Springs for the first time.

Wilson Country Club will line up with Clint O’Hara, Stephen Harrison, Josh Talton, Matt Figg, Coalter Paxton III, Kyle Norville, Scott deKeyser, John Hearn Walston and Seniors entrants Bill Boles Jr. and Coalter Paxton IV. Paxton III, Norville and deKeyser will make their Wilson Cup debuts.

What is expected to be the final Happy Valley team consists of Kevin Wooten, Darryl Baker, Brock Godwin, Brandon Godwin, Zim Hagen, Dwayne Baker, Buddy Page, Charles Matthews and Seniors competitors Scott Irby and Leander Green. New to the Wilson Cup will be Matthews.

Happy Valley ceased operation Aug. 11.

Activities to celebrate the 25th anniversary are planned for Saturday, Aug. 25, at Wilson Country Club and a commemorative patch or logo will be displayed on the shirts of the 40 participating golfers.